Close

Alerts:

The major Amazon Web Services outage that impacted North America Tuesday, including Canvas, has returned to normal functioning and Canvas status is operating normally. If you experienced an access issue that impacted Canvas coursework or an exam during Tuesday's outage, contact your EFSC instructor. Click for COVID Safety, Reporting Information, including 6-foot social distancing requirement in all college buildings, mask and vaccination practices, and the process for student Return to Campus approvals. To support students with Spring Term applications and registration, on-campus services are available on a walk-in basis or by appointment, with virtual options also still in place. See the Student Services Guide.

Collegewide Academic Discipline Chairs

Eastern Florida State College has collegewide department chairs covering multiple academic disciplines. These chairs coordinate course delivery and student appeals for all four EFSC campuses and Eastern Florida Online.

Arts and Humanities Chair: Dr. Alicia Spring
Email: springali@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-5764

Business and Technology Chair: Dr. Michael Daniels
Email: danielsm@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-5205

Career and Technology/Applied Technology Chair: Mr. Daniel Mondshein
Email: mondsheind@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-7527

Communications Chair: Dr. Sharon Cronk-Raby
Email: cronk-rabys@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-5703

Eastern Florida Online Chair (Most online courses): Mr. Andrew Lieb
Email: lieba@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-5411

Mathematics and Engineering Chair: Ms. Beth Rountree
Email: rountreeb@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-7183

Natural and Physical Sciences Chair: Dr. Ramona Smith
Email: smithr@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-7834

Nursing and Applied Health Science Chair (Select online courses): Dr. Karen Spurlock
Email: spurlockk@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-5042

Public Safety Dean and Chair: Steve Salvo
Email: salvos@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-5775

Social and Behavioral Science and Education Chair: Ms. Ilana Grimes
Email: grimesi@easternflorida.edu Phone: 321-433-5856

Appeals Information

For questions related to academic or administrative appeals coordinated through the academic chair offices, view the student appeals process web page. Documents can be submitted to the appropriate collegewide chair through the secure, electronic Student Document Dropbox available after logging in to the myEFSC Portal. Each academic discipline is listed in the "Select Office" dropdown section of the dropbox. View details on using the dropbox.

Course Overrides

Students may request an override into a specific course because a course is full or for other reasons. Course override exceptions are not the norm at EFSC and alternate options should be discussed with an advisor before taking this route. Some overrides may not be allowed due to state or institutional guidelines. However, students may ask for override consideration but should understand that approval is at the discretion of both the course instructor and collegewide chair.